The fiction story

The Diary of the Espresso Woman. Part 30.

image
The Espresso Woman. Drawing by LH.
I left you off on Friday. The day that started off beautifully. And ended up… Well, let me start all over again.

I had this “genius” idea on Friday that I might play a trick on Devon. Why? He just seems so smooth on the surface that it makes me wanna scratch that shiny outside shell and see if there’s anything human underneath.

I just have the urge to understand people and I also am a hopeless sucker for the “good heart”. Maybe I just need to know if he has any kindness inside. At all. I just wanna know.

But before my well oiled plan (OK, to be honest I didn’t even have a plan yet) other things happened…

It’s just that all of a sudden, out of the blue, totally unexpected…. I find myself in the middle of a… situation so to say. An issue if you like.

What happened? I’ll tell you what happened!

It’s Friday morning about 10 a.m. and I get an e-mail from Devon: “Do you often walk around in your co-workers’ dreams?”

Like…., hello! What??? Who on earth would send such a message to a colleague? To the office e-mail?

It’s not like I’m Bridget Jones and come to work in a non existent skirt and see through top!

Who does he think he is? I feel disgusted. Even if it were a come on (which I don’t think it is!) it’s a really bad one. Really really bad one….

I hate him now! What am I supposed to do? I don’t even feel flattered. I feel stupid.

OK, maybe I should feel flattered. Should I? No!

I dare not share my trouble with anyone. I decide to go take a coffee and try to get this thing off my mind. I’ve got work to do!

Of course I don’t wanna test anything about Devon anymore… He seems to be worse than I could imagine in my wildest dreams!

I am furious and with a cause, right?

But what should I do now? Is there any respectable way to handle this? The office gossip about me was bad enough, now I feel like the end of the food chain. The lowest low. I mean, can this get any worse?

To be continued next Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

