The fiction story

The Diary of the Espresso Woman. Part 20.

image
The Diary of the Espresso Woman.

Oh boy, that downstairs neighbor guy is milk and sugar in my coffee. I can feel the Espresso Woman melting away…

I never ever pretended myself to be someone who just rushes into something! But hey… Wasn’t my last love affair (the one that is over for me but I have still not told my (ex-) boyfriend that…) also a big rush, spur of the moment thing? I fell in love at work, quit my job for a heart-melting guy. Yep, I did that.

Hmmm… Do I feel quilty now? Am I stupid? Don’t judge me, please. I’ve been alone for so many months now. Being in a long-distance relationship is a lonely business. You only get the idea of a relationship but that’s it. A couple of messages and phone calls a week are actually not a relationship at all.

Look at me talking now!

But I just don’t care! How often does it happen that a cute single (I hope he’s single. I haven’t asked him about it. I hope that he’s not that twisted that he wouldn’t tell me if there was someone else somewhere.) guy lives downstairs from you. It only happens in movies, right?

So I have to take the chance and let my feelings flow. And they do flow down the stairs… where my neighbor lives.

What has happened between us so far? Um…, I’ll let you know when the time is right. Let’s just say that we’re not exactly just neighbors any more.

***********************

How’s that job hunt going then? Oh, you had to ask, didn’t you?

Actually, I’m glad you asked. I do have three job interviews lined up for this week. See, I told you I’d take my life in my own hands and finally I’m doing it.

It’s like once you make the right turn things start going your way.

Maybe I was all wrong about my last relationship. Let me give you a piece of advice: never quit a job for a guy! For a guy who’s your colleague and whom you have only dated for a few months and who doesn’t include you in his plans. Not worth it!

I wonder if I should finally tell him that we’re over? He calls me every day now and he’s like this sweet puppy just waiting for me to give him orders. He is a total mess. Now he thinks that I’m the love of his life and begs for forgiveness.

Well, I know that what he did (grabbed my job and moved to London behind my back!) was maybe not that terrible. Some people think that the worst thing in a relationship would be cheating…. he did cheat in fact. Not with someone else, but the bottom line remains the same.

At least for me.

And it was like a wake up call for me. The only thing that I didn’t know is that you could fall out of love so fast. I couldn’t care less about him now.

*********************

It’s a Friday afternoon and I’m at my neighbor’s place. We’re hanging out… you know, all chilled out.
And suddenly I hear footsteps on the ceiling! In my appartement! Damn the thin ceilings/floors! But who is that??

Oh my god… My ex still has the keys… He must have come to pay me a surprise visit! What on earth do I do now??!

To be continued next Monday.

Leave a Reply

