reading · The fiction story

The Diary of the Espresso Woman. Part 12.

So I left you at the point where I had soaked myself with coffee and washed my favourite white silk blouse and therefore had to put on a wet t-shirt show in the middle of the city. On my way to the job interview. Yeah, I know…

Well, at least I was right about one thing – the blouse did air dry in a few minutes. And no stains! Isn’t it even one more reason to love coffee? Red wine leaves stains but coffee never does.

Anyway…

I arrive fashionably late. Five minutes late. Unfortunately this is not a job in fashion so I doubt how fashionable my being late actually is.

This time there are three men in suits sitting across the table. They must consider the position really important if they all take time to meet the candidate. And one of the men is from top management!

They start off casually with asking me to tell them a little bit about myself. I never nail it. My mistake is to start with my childhood and talk about things that do not matter at a job interview! I think I should practise this part at home.

My second mistake is to joke at job interviews. I have this kind of weird sense of humour. People often don’t get it and might take it the wrong way. But I just can’t help it. I mean, what’s life without a little laugh? Except that they don’t laugh when I make a joke here.

My third mistake is to start apologizing for the stupid things I said to sound funny. It only makes things worse. But I can’t seem to help that, either. If there only was something in my head to control the things I say!

The men look at me quite puzzled. They look at me and they look at my CV and they probably can’t believe that I haven’t made anything up. People always seem to think that if you’re funny you can’t be a professional in your job. Unless your job is a comedian. And of course they didn’t even get my jokes. They probably think that I’m just odd.

The final part is a test to measure my professional experience, my logics and my personality. Generally I do not like tests but the logics test is kind of interesting and fun to take. I quite enjoy it.

*******************

When I leave the huge office buidling I again feel like I have stepped off the stage to the real life.

What the hell am I doing? It didn’t feel like the real world inside that office at all. I can say the things that they want to hear but it doesn’t make sense. I can’t pretend that my job is all that matters to me. I mean, I can but I don’t want to.

It’s ironic that I could still do a better job than anyone else. It’s because when I do something I want to do it well. Many people promise the employer the world but are too lazy to do even half of it. That’s one thing I can’t do. I cannot do a lousy job. I have to do well. I have to be excellent. But I don’t want to make any promises. It should be sort of a given that I want to do my job well. Why should I brag about myself? I just don’t like that.

And that raises the question for me. If I want to do my job really well, is this the job I want? Do I want to give this job my devoted attention? Do I want to be part of that unreal feeling world again?

I’m scared of the answer. So I do like Scarlet did in “Gone with the Wind” and I tell myself that I will just think about it tomorrow.

But now it’s time for a big fat latte. Yes, you heard me right. I want a latte. I’m tired of the espressos. I don’t have to prove anything. I certainly do not have to prove anything by drinking strong black coffee. I like it with milk and that’s fine. Cheers! To all the coffee drinkers out there! Let’s have a wonderful rest of the day!

See you next Monday! I’ll give you the overview about my boyfriend situation then! And the trip to London and the big corporate event. You haven’t forgotten, have you?

To be continued next Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

