fashion · Finance · just thinking... · nature · travel

The Sunday Times school. / Pühapäevakool Sunday Times’iga.

I remember the first time a colleague brought me The Sunday Times (the British newspaper) from her trip to the UK. I was in love from the first article.

I like a big fat newspaper. One that takes the whole Sunday to read.

As this newspaper is not sold in Estonia I can only get it when someone brings it to me from the UK or when I have bought it myself on my few trips to Britain. (I was so happy the one time I woke up in London on a Sunday and I could walk to pick up my beloved newspaper from the gas station myself.)

My dear relatives and friends have been asked to pile up weeks of The Sunday Times and then bring them to me all at once. And I’m telling you if you don’t know – it is a heavy newspaper. I have once received four weeks’ papers at the same time! Boy, was I happy (The person who had to bring my “treasures” was not happy as she had to leave some of her stuff in London  to be able to fit all my newspapers in the suitcase.)

So the news I get are usually old, but that’s not why I read The Sunday Times.

I read it as it is so refreshing to see the world from another point of view. It’s interesting to discover topics that are not at all covered here, in Estonia.

I have learned so much from this paper and the English language it uses sometimes makes me wonder if I’ve learnt English at all. The Sunday Times for me is more like a Sunday school in that sense. And I love my teacher!

It’s funny how I am willing to read stuff in a foreign language that I’d not bother to read in my native tongue. One reason is that I’m willing to push myself to improve my knowledge of the language.There must be a second reason but I haven’t quite figured it out yet. And that makes it even more fascinating.

I also have my own special routine for reading The Sunday Times. First of all I separate all the different parts it has. The first thing I start reading is the Style magazine. Then I read the Money section. My favourite part is the article on the last page of the Money where different well known people are asked about their money. How they spend it, how they earn it, how they save it… that kind of stuff. Because who doesn’t like to peek into someone else’s wallet!  I know I do!

After reading The Sunday Times I am always bursting with desire to share my thoughts with someone. Unfortunately I don’t know anyone here who would read it. I have thought about starting The Sunday Times club. People would come together for tea and biscuits and we would read the paper and discuss it. I imagine it being such fun!

Would you join my club? Have you read The Sunday Times? What’s your favourite part?

And here are some pictures featuring a lizard who unexpectedly came to visit me when I was reading The Sunday Times outdoors in the country.

sisalik2_Fotor
A lizard on The Sunday Times.
sisalik_Fotor
A Sunday Times reader.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Sunday Times.

*********************************

Ma mäletan esimest korda kui töökaaslane mulle The Sunday Times ajalehe tõi. Taipasin kohe, et see on midagi minu jaoks.

The Sunday Times on suur paks Suurbritannia ajaleht. Selline, mille lugemine võtabki terve pühapäeva. Eestis seda ei müüda ja nii tuleb mul loota sõpradele ja sugulastele, kes Inglismaal käivad, või oodata oma väheseid käike Londonisse (Olin ütlemata õnnelik sel ainsal korral, mil ärkasin pühapäeval Londonis ja sain ise oma igatsetud ajalehe järele jalutada.)

Olen palunud Londonis elaval sugulasel enda jaoks nädalate kaupa The Sunday Times’i koguda, et lasta see siis lõpuks Eestisse tuua. Kord sain lausa nelja nädala ajalehed korraga. Rõõmustasin nagu laps jõululaupäeval. Saadetise tooja nii õnnelik ei olnud, sest tema pidi osad oma asjad Londonisse jätma, selleks, et minu ajalehed tema kohvrisse mahuksid.

Nii et uudised, mis ma ajalehe kaudu saan, on tavaliselt vanad. Loomulikult pole värskete uudiste ootus põhjus, miks ma Sunday Times’i loen.

Loen välismaist ajakirjandust, sest mulle meeldib kogeda teistsugust vaatenurka maailma asjadele. Mulle pakub huvi teada, mis Suurbritannias hetkel uudiskünnist ületab, ja see pole sugugi alati sama, mis meil. The Sunday Times’i lugemine on minu jaoks nagu pühapäevakool – ma olen selle lugemisega oluliselt oma silmaringi laiendanud.

Inglise keel, mida The Sunday Times kasutab, paneb mind mõnikord mõtlema, kas ma seda keelt üldse oskan. Kaasaegse sõnakasutuse mõistmine võib teinekord tõeline pingutus olla. Aga mõelge vaid kui kasulik!

Huvitav on see, et võõrkeeles loen ma ka selliseid artikleid, mida ma emakeeles lugema ei vaevuks. Ilmselt ongi üks põhjus see, et sunnin ennast keele õppimise eesmärgil rohkem. Olen kindel, et on olemas ka teine põhjus, aga ma ei oska veel seletada, mis see on. Seda põnevamaks see asja teeb!

Sunday Times’i lugemiseks on mul oma kindel rutiin. Kõigepealt harutan ma ajalehe kilest lahti ja jagan selle osadeks (sellel on palju erinevaid sektsioone ja lisaks veel väikesed ajakirjad: kultuurist, moest…).

Kõige esimesena loen ajakirja Style. Järgmiseks huvitab mind raha teema (Money section). Minu maiuspalaks on artikkel, mis on alati raha osa viimasel leheküljel. Seal vastavad tuntud (sageli küll meil Eestis täiesti tundmatud) inimesed küsimustele rahateemadel. Kui palju nad teenivad, kui palju kulutavad, kuidas säästavad, mis krediitkaarte kasutavad jne. Kellele ei meeldiks teise rahakotti piiluda? Mulle küll meeldib!

Iga kord peale Sunday Times’i lugemist on mul tunne, et tahaksin seda kõike kellegagi jagada. Kahjuks ei tea ma siin kedagi, kes Sunday Times’i loeks. Olen mõelnud, et peaksin kokku kutsuma The Sunday Times’i klubi. Istuksime koos, jooksime teed, sööksime küpsiseid, loeksime ajalehte ja arutaksime loetud teemadel. Kas poleks tore? Kes soovib ennast kirja panna? Ja kas teie olete Sunday Times’i lugenud?

Leave a Reply

