fashion · just thinking...

Family jewels. / Perekonnajuveelid.

This photo is no mistake. These mittens are my family jewels.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Handmade mittens.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Handmade mittens.

I have read and heard about people who have family jewellery: rings, brooches or pearls that belonged to their mother, grandmother or even great-grandmother. Something special that you can wear all the time. It sounds like a fairytale. I’ve always believed that jewellery should have a story behind it and family jewellery certainly does.

I had many golden things that were presents but they were all stolen years ago. Somebody had broken into our home and took it all. I was smart enough to let it go. None of those things were family relics anyway. On the other hand, one day they might have become the family jewellery…

My grandparents from both sides lived in the country. They were really ordinary people living in the tough times. I guess my grandmas could only have dreamed about jewellery.

But… Estonians have always valued handicraft. And that’s what my grandmothers and my mother did a lot.

I have only seen my maternal grandmother and in my memories I see her in the armchair, always knitting, crocheting or sewing.

My mother was the same. She was always doing some handicraft.

To me all those things that my mother and grandmother have made themselves are the family jewels.

They are more meaningful than jewels because of being handmade by the people dearest to me. The only downside is that I cannot wear them all the time like I could jewellery.

These handmade things also have the most amazing stories behind them.

I have a linen tablecloth which had been made by my grandma. She made it herself from the very beginning. She even grew the flax herself!

My father told me that my other grandma had made my grandpa a jacket. They had sheep and she made the yarn from their wool. She wove the fabric and sow the jacket. So she made it all herself from scratch. Unfortunately I’ve never seen the jacket, but at least I have this story.

I think I’m really blessed to have such things and to have these stories. No golden ring can beat these.

So these mittens in the photo are my family jewels. Better than anything that money can buy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Handmade mittens.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Handmade mittens.

***************************************************

Need fotod ei ole eksitus. Need kindad ongi minu perekonnajuveelid.

Paljudel on olemas tõelised perekonnajuveelid: sõrmused, prossid või pärlid, mis kuulusid nende emale, vanaemale või isegi vanavanaemale. Midagi erilist, mida saab kogu aeg kanda. Nagu muinasjutus. Olen alati arvanud, et ehetel peab olema oma lugu ja perekonnaehetel on see kindlasti olemas.

Mul oli kunagi päris mitu kuldehet, kuid vargad, kes meie koju sisse murdsid, viisid kõik minema. Õnneks lasin sellel juhtumil minna. Kõik need ehted olid küll kingiks saadud, kuid ükski neist ei olnud meie perekonna pärand. Nii et mis seal ikka. Loomulikult oleks need võinud kunagi saada minu perekonnajuveelideks…

Minu mõlemad vanaemad elasid maal. Nad olid väga lihtsad inimesed, kes elasid väga raskel ajal. Ehetest võisid nad vist ainult unistada.

Eestlased on aga alati käsitööd hinnanud ja minugi vanavanemad tegid usinalt käsitööd.

Asjad, mis mu ema ja vanaemad on ise teinud, ongi minu jaoks minu perekonnajuveelid.

Need on isegi tähenduslikumad, kui ehted, sest nad on tehtud mulle kallite inimeste poolt. Nende ainus miinus on see, et ma ei saa neid kogu aeg kanda (nii nagu ehteid saab).

Igal esivanemate tehtud käsitööl on ka oma lugu.

Mul on laudlina, mille on teinud minu vanaema. Ta tegi selle otsast lõpuni ise, kasvatades lina ja kududes kanga.

Mu isa rääkis mulle, et minu teine vanaema tegi vanaisale pintsaku. Ta ketras lõnga villast, mille nad said oma lammastelt, ja kudus ise kanga. Lõpuks õmbles ta pintsaku valmis. Ma ei ole seda pintsakut küll ise näinud, kuid vähemalt on mul see lugu.

Ma arvan, et on lihtsalt õnn, et mul on sellised asjad ja lood, mis nende juurde käivad. Ükski kuldsõrmus ei saa selle vastu.

Nii on ka need käpikud minu perekonnajuveelid. Paremad, kui raha eest iial osta saaks.

 

Leave a Reply

