fashion · just thinking...

Who owns all the words? / Kelle omad on sõnad?

The other day I was listening to Def Leppard’s  “Two steps behind you”.

def leppard
Def Leppard T-shirt.

And I catch the words:

“(Whatever you do)
I’ll be two steps behind you
(Wherever you go)
and I’ll be there to remind you…”

And you know, I automatically think that these days someone might say that the song is about stalking someone. Which is a serious topic of course, but I’m sure that’s not what these words mean in this song.

Sometimes it just seems to me that you can never say the right thing. That someone somewhere can always give another meaning to your words. It’s like someone owns the words and they can tell you: “No, you did not mean THAT. I will tell you what it actually means.” Crazy, no?

When I’m reading the comments to the articles I have written I am sometimes just blown away by how differently people understand the same words. And I always think that maybe it’s me, maybe I do not express myself correctly enough.

Then again, no matter how correct you are and how much you explain, there will always be someone who understands it differently. And that’s just the way it is.

I still think that no one person owns the words. We all have the right to use them.

By the way, I would be happy if we used more words and less symbols, abbreviations, emoticons etc.

I actually promised myself that I will try not to use emoticons on my blog. If you don’t find the sentence funny, will a smiley in the end still make you laugh? I doubt it. But who knows how long I can do with only words. We’ll see.

When I was a school kid there was a verse (I’ll try to translate it although it makes more sense in Estonian):

“I think that you think that I don’t think about you. Don’t you think that I don’t think about you. Why would I not think about you, I do!”

That pretty much sums it up.

IMG_20151229_142437606
Words.
IMG_20151230_141905338
Words.

***********************

Kuulasin hiljuti Def Leppardi laulu “Two steps behind you” ja mida meenutavad mulle refrääni sõnad:

“(Whatever you do)
I’ll be two steps behind you
(Wherever you go)
and I’ll be there to remind you…”

Ma mõtlesin automaatselt, et tänapäeval võiks arvata, et räägitakse kellegi jälitamisest! Mis on muidugi tõsine teema, aga olen kindel, et selle laulu sõnad kõnelevad ikkagi millestki muust.

Mõnikord tundub mulle, et ükskõik kuidas sa ei püüaks, iialgi pole võimalik end väljendada nii, et kõik sellest õigesti aru saaksid. Ikka leidub keegi, kes annab su sõnadele hoopis teise tähenduse.

Justkui keegi omaks kõiki sõnu ja ta võib sulle öelda: “Ei, sa ei mõelnud SEDA. MINA ütlen sulle, mida sa tegelikult öelda tahtsid!” Kas pole veider?

Kui ma loen kommentaare artiklitele, mida ma olen kirjutanud, siis vahepeal ma lihtsalt ei suuda uskuda, kui erinevalt võivad inimesed sõnu mõista.

Ma süüdistan sel puhul ikka ennast ja arvan, et ilmselt ei oska mina end piisavalt hästi väljendada.

Samas on selge see, et ükskõik kui palju sa selgitad, leidub alati keegi, kes mõistab asja teisiti. Nii see lithtsalt on.

Ma arvan, et mitte keegi ei oma kogu maailma sõnu. Meil kõigil on õigus neid kasutada.

Rääkides sõnadest… mul oleks hea meel, kui me kõik kasutaksime rohkem sõnu ja vähem emotikone, sümboleid ja  lühendeid.

Tegelikult ma lubasin endale, et ma ei kasuta siin blogis emotikone.

Kui lause ei ole sinu jaoks naljakas ja ma panen sinna lõppu naerunäo, siis kas see paneb su naerma? Ma ei usu seda.

Aga kes teab, kui kaua ma ainult sõnu kasutades vastu pean. Võib-olla pean ühel hetkel alla andma…

Kui ma laps olin, siis oli meil käibel selline salm:

“Ma mõtlen, et sa mõtled, et ma sinule ei mõtle. Ära mõtle, et ei mõtle, miks ei mõtle, mõtlen küll.”

Ma arvan, et see võtab kogu teema kenasti kokku.

Leave a Reply

