Christmas · fashion · just thinking...

Holidays my way. / Pühad minu moodi.

I usually have a very specific idea of what my holidays should look like.

For Christmas, I dream of being in the country and doing two of my favourite things in the world: reading and walking. (Well, for years my Christmas fantasy were the idyllic scenes in WHAM!’s music video “Last Christmas”…)

I like to walk in the woods, along the village road or maybe take a tour in the nearby little town.

As for reading, then I have a tradition for Christmas. There has to be at least one fashion magazine (I warned you that I have a thing for magazines!).

Preferably VOGUE, but it can also be ELLE, MARIE CLAIRE, GLAMOUR. These magazines are not published in Estonian so I read them in English (I rotate between the British and US versions).

Sometimes I get them in Russian, main reason being that…. the Russian version is cheaper here. This year I got the Russian Glamour magazine.

I also got Bild der Frau, which is in German. It’s cheap, has got a really easy-breazy atmosphere about it and gives me a possibility to remember my German (Bild der Frau is really easy to read, too).

IMG_20151229_123054135
My magazines.

I have kept all the magazines so I’ve got stacks of them everywhere. Some are in French (quite hard to read for me, but I do get the general idea) and in Italian (based on my knowledge of other  languages I can actually understand some Italian, too, when I read it).

The other magazines I love are about interior design, home and gardening. But we can talk about them some other time.

Oh, and the newspapers! We’ll talk about that later, too.

So right now, when it’s getting dark and cold outside, I’m sitting at the kitchen table, the Christmas lights and candles are burning and I have three magazines waiting… Pure joy!

I’m also really selfish actually. I love it when I have people around me, but they are so to say in the background. So I’m not alone, but I can enjoy doing my own stuff (reading the magazines) and nobody bothers me.

As I also hurt my back I can’t really do much else so (And it ruined a lot of my plans, but I will not complain. Although I’d like to complain. A little bit…)… yeah, pretty much the perfect holidays.

IMG_20151221_145829179
Christmas lights.

 

***********

Mul on pühadest alati mingi selge nägemus, et millised nad minu jaoks peaksid olema. (Jah, ma tunnistan, et aastaid oli minu jõuluidülliks pildikesed WHAM!’i videost “Last Christmas”.)

Jõulude ajal tahan ma olla maal ja tegeleda oma kahe lemmiktegevusega – lugemise ja jalutamisega.

Jalutada saan siin metsas, külavaheteel või hoopis lähedal asuva väikelinna tänavatel.

Lugemise osas on mul jõuludeks alati kindel traditsioon. Mul peab olema vähemalt üks moeajakiri (Ma ju hoiatasin, et ajakirjadega on mul väga eriline suhe!). Tavaliselt on see VOGUE, aga sageli ka ELLE, MARIE CLAIRE, GLAMOUR.

Tore on see, et meil on valida Briti ja Ameerika variandi vahel. Mõnikord ostan hoopis venekeelse. Põhjus on väga lihtne – venekeelne on kõige odavam. Sel aastal on mul kaasas venekeelne Glamour.

Samuti ostsin saksakeelse ajakirja Bild der Frau. See on odav, ilusate piltidega ja minu arvates rõõmsameelse alatooniga ajakiri. Kõigele lisaks on see lihtne viis oma saksa keele oskust veidigi turgutada.

Hoian kõik ajakirjad alles, nii et mul on neid siin hunnikute kaupa igas nurgas.

Aegade jooksul on kogunenud ka prantsusekeelseid ajakirju, mida mul küll üsna keeruline lugeda on, kuid enam-vähem saan aru. Itaaliakeelsetest suudan ma teiste keelte baasil aru saada, kuid pean selleks hoolega süvenema.

Ajakirjadest langeb mu valik veel sisekujundus-, kodu- ja aiandusajakirjadele. Nendest räägime mõni teine kord.

Oo, ja ajalehed…. Nendest teeme ka hiljem juttu.

Hetkel on väljas pime ja külm (-11 kraadi), toas säravad jõulutuled ja küünlad. Laual ootavad kolm uut ajakirja…. Puhas rõõm!

Ausalt öeldes olen ma selles suhtes ka üsna isekas. Mulle meeldib, kui minu ümber on inimesed, kuid nad on pigem nö taustaks. Nii ei ole ma üksi, kuid võin rahulikult oma tegemisi nautida (ajakirja lugeda) ja keegi ei sega mind.

Kuna tegin just oma seljale haiget, ei saa ma niikuinii midagi targemat teha (See lõi sassi paljud minu pühadeplaanid, aga ma ei tohiks kurta. Aga tahaks. Natukene…) ja võin tõesti süümepiinadeta köögilaua taga oma lugemisvara nautida.

Minu täiuslikud pühad. Noh, peaaegu.

Leave a Reply

